Edinburgh-Love at first sight

In under 42 hours I planned a trip to a different country. What took me a good two years to do in Australia.

I am still unable to fathom the idea of booking a weekend away, in a different country so easily and quickly.

Friday

By Friday afternoon we were bound for Edinburgh and just a short hour and 40 minute train ride we were there. Although it felt like five minutes to me, I was too excited and enthralled in the landscapes that passed by us.

From the moment I stepped out of the station Edinburgh took my breath away, the architecture of the buildings and historical charm from each of the shops and pubs felt like I had stepped into another world once again. The first thing we noticed about Edinburgh was all the steps and alley ways all over the town creating a maze within a maze, creating different levels and hidden places at every turn.

We booked our accommodation through Airbnb and stayed in a little flat in old town Edinburgh, I have never felt more at home than I did at that moment. The flat was spacious with high ceilings and heavy doors.

Our first night there was burdened by the heavy decision of where to eat, every where looked so inviting and there was every single restaurant and pub you could think of. To our obliviousness it was a Friday night and every where was packed with people. We ended up at a burger bar and it was the best god damn burger I have every eaten.

Saturday

Like a kid on Christmas morning I was up early and eager to start the day. First thing on our to do list was breakfast at The Elephant House, for those who are unfamiliar with The Elephant House it is where J.K. Rowling started to write Harry Potter. My favourite part was going to the toilet where every inch of space was taken up with messages about Harry Potter, people’s appreciation and love for a book that touched so many people.

Next we where off to Edinburgh castle, someone I have been dreaming of since I stepped foot in the UK. I could not wipe the grin off my face when we arrived, I probably looked like an idiot but I did not care one bit. The castle was not at all how I imagined, it was 100 times better. It was like a little village filled with shops, galleries, tours, fantasy, fun and dreams, not to mention the views overlooking the town at every look out. I was able to learn so much about Scotland’s history, I was amazed at how little I knew. My favourite part, bar the whiskey tasting, was the crown jewels dating back to 1494. The story of them amazed me, how they were kept for so long despite being lost and buried multiple times were on display for me to drool over.

It was not until I was standing within the castle walls overlooking old Edinburgh when it started to snow that I knew Edinburgh was stealing my heart. I have never felt anything so magical in my life and it is that moment that I will hold in my heart forever.

At 7pm we then joined in on a free ghost tour of old town Edinburgh, although it was more of a historical tour at night. Despite that lack of ghosts and fear it was fascinating to learn about how the town came to be and the history and stories behind streets, bridges and walls which we had passed oblivious to during the day.

Sunday

After a long night of pub crawling, laughs and meeting people we will never see again we managed to get up at a reasonable time. We walked to Arthur’s seat which is the main peak of the group of hills in Scotland. It was not until we were half way up that we realised we were not in the right attire. The view from where we were though was still breath taking. Walking on we ended up at The Palace of Holyroodhouse, commonly referred to as Holyrood Palace, which is the official residence of the British monarch in Scotland. Sadly despite my attempts of trying to explain to them that this was my future home they would not let me in.

walking on in defeat we then found our selves at Calton hill which is located in central Edinburgh, I felt like a little kid again on a historical playground. Known for its Athenian acropolis which is an unfinished monument, originally called the “National Monument”. It was meant to look like the Athens Parthenon as a memorial to those who had died in the Napoleonic Wars, but they run out of money and was never finished. This is just one of the historical structures on the hill. Despite my excitement and need to view everything I only slipped over once in the mud.

Our afternoon was then filled with walking the busy street of Prince street which was lined with shops.

Nearing our departure of Edinburgh we were exhausted, cramming everything we could into our short time here we didn’t even scrape the top of what Edinburgh had to offer.

For those who have stuck through to the end of this lengthy post I appreciate it, trying to put into words everything I felt, saw and accomplished in Edinburgh was a tough job. My love for Edinburgh is something  I really hope you can all experience one day.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Edinburgh-Love at first sight

Leave a Reply

